NOW: Pensions appoints Joanne Segars and Dalriada Trustees to its Trustee Board

Workplace pensions provider NOW: Pensions has today announced the appointment of Joanne Segars OBE and independent trustees Dalriada Trustees to its Board of Trustee Directors.

Dalriada will join the Trustee Board immediately and Joanne will join later in the year replacing Lord John Monks who is retiring.

Joanne was the Chief Executive of the Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association (PLSA) from 2006-2017. Joanne was appointed to the Board of the Environment Agency in March 2017 and chairs the Environment Agency Pension Fund (EAPF). In May 2017 she was appointed the first Chair of LGPS Central Ltd.

She chaired the EU trade Association for Pensions, PensionsEurope, from 2013-2016. Before joining the PLSA Joanne was Head of Pensions and Savings at the Association of British Insurers from 2001 to 2005. Joanne held the pensions brief at the Trades Union Congress for 13 years and started her career in pensions as a researcher and journalist for Incomes Data Services.

Joanne has a degree in economics from John Moores University, Liverpool, and a Master of Arts degree in Industrial Relations from the University of Warwick.

In the 2003 Queen’s Birthday Honours, Joanne was awarded an OBE for services to the pensions industry.

Nigel Waterson, Chair of Trustees, NOW: Pensions said: “Joanne’s experience, knowledge and standing within the pensions industry are second to none. Her integrity, independence and commitment to ensuring the best outcomes for members make her the perfect choice for the Trustee Board and I look forward to welcoming her.

“We are appointing Dalriada Trustees, primarily to harness their expertise in resolving our remaining historic data issues as swiftly and efficiently as possible. They will provide a fresh and very welcome perspective.

Strong, independent governance is of the utmost importance to us and Dalriada will help us ensure that we are carrying out all of our duties with absolute rigour.”

Nigel continues: “I would like to take this opportunity to thank Lord Monks for the contribution he has made to the Trustee Board over the past six years. His insight and wisdom will be greatly missed.”

Commenting on her appointment, Joanne Segars OBE said“As one of the largest and most innovative master trusts in the market, NOW: Pensions has an important role to play in ensuring auto enrolment is a success. I look forward to joining the Trustee Board as the company continues to expand and cement its position in the market and to further develop its approach to responsible investment as its assets under management continue to grow.”

The NOW: Pensions’ Trustee board comprises well-known industry figures with different areas of expertise:

  • Jocelyn Blackwell, founding partner Dunnett Shaw
  • Dalriada Trustees
  • Christopher Daykin, former Government Actuary
  • Lord John Monks, member of House of Lords and former General Secretary of ETUC and TUC
  • Win Robbins, former Head of European Fixed Income at Barclays Global Investors
  • Joanne Segars, former Chief Executive, Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association (to replace John Monks on his retirement)
  • Nigel Waterson, former Shadow Pensions Minister

More information

Samantha Gould – NOW: Pensions
Instinctif Partners
Fenella CuthbertCicero/AMO
Tel: 0207 947 5327